OLLI at Illinois is a member-centered community that is guided by a volunteer Board of Directors and five standing committees comprised of members representing a wide variety of backgrounds and experiences.

Curriculum Committee

Statement of Purpose

The Curriculum Committee is responsible for developing a stimulating, well-balanced schedule of courses in the fall and spring semesters.


The committee works in partnership with the OLLI Director to identify instructors and topics that will result in a diverse, intellectually stimulating curriculum; reviews courses and instructor performance and determines future directions; suggests new and returning instructors and subjects; approves and refines course proposals; and assesses course policies and evaluation procedures. The OLLI Director has sole hiring responsibility for all course instructors, and committee members may not discuss hiring details or terms of employment with any potential or current instructors.

Curriculum Committee Members

Eileen Kohen, Chair
Claudia Reich, Board Liaison
Debbie Day
Roger Epperson
Barbara Ford
Connie Hosier
Paula Kaufman
Chris Main
Dirk Mol
Jane Smith
Jo Thomas
David Tracy

Development Committee

Statement of Purpose

The Development Committee works with the OLLI Director and Board to plan and implement fundraising activities that help to meet OLLI’s financial goals. 


In accordance with University policies and procedures, the committee identifies needs and develops fundraising goals; develops active strategies for achieving these goals; develops and leads personal appeals in classes and at OLLI events; and communicates with the Board regarding fundraising plans. The OLLI Director is the chief development officer of OLLI at Illinois. Committee members may not solicit any individuals or agencies on behalf of OLLI.

Development Committee Members

Susan Feuille, Chair
Joe Sciacca, Board Liaison
Tom Galer-Unti, Board Financial Liaison
Wendy Bauer
Dee Breeding
Mark Dirksen
Dick Norton
Elizabeth Osborn

e-News Committee

Statement of Purpose

The e-News Committee works in consultation with the OLLI Director to plan, assign, write, design, and distribute an electronic newsletter for members and others on the OLLI at Illinois mailing list. The committee will also produce special issues as they deem appropriate.


The committee generates feature stories, columns, member-feedback sections, and other content; and assesses reader responses and user data.

e-News Committee Members

Connie Hosier, Chair
Barbara Meyer, Technical Specialist
Cecile Steinberg, Board Liaison
Eileen Kohen
Frank Modica
Jean Paley
Casey Sutherland

Membership Committee

Statement of Purpose

The Membership Committee creates and implements plans for the recruitment, orientation, and retention of OLLI members.


The committee is responsible for welcoming new members through new-member orientation sessions held prior to the start of each semester; and reaching out to new and returning members at informal activities designed to engage and sustain OLLI membership. The committee also assists the OLLI staff in arranging and staffing the Annual Meeting, day trips and local tours, and special events throughout the year, and in distributing course catalogs and other marketing materials.

Membership Committee Members

Chris Whippo, Chair
Judy Bach, Board Liaison
John Bennett
Sandra Darby
Monica David
Diane Fairchild
Judy Fierke
Naomi Jakobsson
Debbie Karplus
Kathy Marshak
Marilyn Resch
Kathie Spegal

Study Group Committee

Statement of Purpose

The Study Group Committee develops and approves a schedule of peer-led discussion groups on a wide variety of topics. Committee members are expected to have personal experience as study group facilitators prior to joining the committee, and are encouraged to serve as facilitators during their term on the committee.


The committee provides support and guidance to study group facilitators through workshops and training meetings; actively participates in recruitment of facilitators and in the suggestion of potential topics; reviews and approves study group proposals; and assesses proposal policies and evaluation procedures.

Study Group Committee Members

Kathy Robinson, Chair
Frank Chadwick, Board Liaison
Trisha Crowley
Priscilla Fortier
Bev Herzog
Peg Maher
Armine Mortimer
Tim Smith
Marganit Weinberger-Rotman
Sharon Williams